The Healing Centre for Griefology

Transforming Aboriginal disadvantage into Aboriginal prosperity.

A brief overview of the Wanganeen Model:

The Seven Phases to Integrating Loss and Grief©

The Seven Phases to Integrating Loss and Grief© model is an innovative socio-cultural framework. It is directly inspired by Rosemary Wanganeen’s personal life experiences as she and her family lived through inhumane government policies during her childhood.

In its most concise form, Rosemary’s Seven Phases to Integrating Loss and Grief© model is centered around Aboriginal peoples intergenerational suppressed unresolved grief. Specifically, how the history of ancestral losses and unresolved grief that is compounding and complicating contemporary losses and unresolved grief.

Removed from her family as a child, Rosemary became a part of the Stolen Generation which exposed her to all forms of violations. Between 1987-1992 she was thrust into her ‘intuitive research’ attempting to understand not just her childhood experiences but her family, her community, and what happened to her Ancestors.

She questioned not just ‘what happened?’ but more importantly ‘why did it happen?’. In answering these questions, her unique and innovative Seven Phases to Integrating Loss and Grief© model was developed.

The Seven Phases to Integrating Loss and Grief© are:

Phase 1 Contemporary Aboriginal Disadvantage
Phase 2 Childhood Violations / Losses & Unresolved Grief
Phase 3 Australian History; English History; Ancient History; Plato 388 BC.
Phase 4& 5 Ancient Traditional Culture
Phase 6 Reclamation of Contemporary Loss & Grief Programs
Phase 7 Develop Training Programs for every sector across society

Rosemary utilises her Seven Phases to Integrating Loss and Grief© model in a range of programs to provide a:

  • Context for learning about past and present events knowing that prosperity is possible from an Aboriginal perspective;
  • Guide to understanding issues of loss and grief and their loss and grief challenges impact on contemporary Aboriginal people and communities;
  • Framework for counseling individuals and groups;
  • Tool for integrating loss & grief in clients struggling to come to terms with psychological challenges and personal circumstances;
  • Pathway into cultural competency through building cultural rapport for non-Aboriginal and Aboriginal service providers.

Rosemary discovered that loss and grief is a human experience that doesn’t discriminate. Which is why her programs and services support people from all cultural backgrounds.

To view Rosemary’s extensive accomplishments please refer to her Curriculum Vitae below.

Curriculum Vitae